
ASUS ROG NUC 16
ASUS ROG NUC 16: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
Gaming and workstation work are what the ROG NUC 16 is built for: every configuration carries a discrete NVIDIA GeForce GPU, from the RTX 5060 Laptop to the RTX 5080 Laptop, inside a compact case. Memory sits in 2 slots rather than being soldered, so the 16 GB entry model can grow to 128 GB later. Pick it for a desk gaming PC that drives up to 5 displays. Skip it if everyday office work is all you need.
Choose a configuration


Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop, 32 GB / 1 TB

Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop, 64 GB / 2 TB
Who this suits
It suits players who want laptop-class NVIDIA graphics without a laptop, and who would rather add memory later than replace the machine. It also suits CUDA-backed coding and workstation tasks on Windows 11 Pro, since every model ships with a discrete GPU and the operating system installed. Multi-monitor desks are covered too, with up to 5 displays.
Skip it if your day is email, browsing and documents. That work is well suited, but it needs far less machine. Skip it as a homelab router too, because the single 2.5GbE port suits a Docker host, not routing between networks. And if you need a PCIe card slot or OCuLink, there is neither.
Workload fit
Everyday use is well suited, though it is far more machine than browsing and office work need.
Coding is well suited: 16, 32 or 64 GB of DDR5 sits in two upgradeable SODIMM slots, and the discrete GPU handles anything that uses CUDA.
Gaming is well suited, because a discrete RTX 5060 Laptop, RTX 5070 Ti Laptop or RTX 5080 Laptop ships with the chassis and keeps its own memory instead of sharing system memory. Frame rates are not measured, so let the GPU name guide you.
Homelab use is workable: one 2.5GbE port is enough for a Docker host but not for routing between networks.
Local AI is workable. With a discrete GPU, the card's own memory bounds model size, not the system total, and that is 8 GB, 12 GB or 16 GB depending on the configuration. More system memory helps around the model but does not lift that limit.
Workstation work is well suited, with discrete graphics in every model and 24 cores in the Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus models. The entry Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus has 20 cores.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ultra 7 270HX Plus, RTX 5060 | Good | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Good |
| Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5070 Ti | Good | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Good |
| Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5080 | Good | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Good |
Which configuration to choose
The entry model pairs the Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus with an RTX 5060 Laptop carrying 8 GB, plus 16 GB of DDR5 and 1000 GB of NVMe storage. The middle model moves to the Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, an RTX 5070 Ti Laptop with 12 GB, 32 GB of memory and the same 1000 GB drive. The top model keeps that processor and adds an RTX 5080 Laptop with 16 GB, 64 GB of memory and 2000 GB of storage. Choose by graphics card, since memory can be added later and the GPU is fixed.
Upgrading it
Memory is the easy upgrade: 2 slots, nothing soldered, DDR5 at 6400 MT/s and a ceiling of 128 GB. The 16 GB and 32 GB models can grow to 128 GB, and the 64 GB model can go there as well.
Storage is tighter. There is 1 M.2 slot, for 2280 drives at PCIe generation 5, so more M.2 capacity means swapping the 1000 GB or 2000 GB drive for a larger one rather than adding a second M.2 drive. There is no PCIe card slot for expansion either.
Connecting it
For screens, there are 2 HDMI 2.1 outputs and 2 DisplayPort 2.1 outputs, and the USB-C ports carry DisplayPort alt mode, with ASUS giving 5 displays as the maximum. There are 2 USB-C ports and 1 Thunderbolt port, but no USB4 ports and no OCuLink.
For wired peripherals, 6 USB-A ports cover keyboards, drives and dongles. Networking is 1 port at 2.5GbE, plus Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4 from an included wireless module. Power comes from an external 280W or 380W supply.
Manufacturer specifications
Partly verifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- ASUS
- Processor
- Intel Core Ultra 7 270HX Plus, Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus
- Cores and threads
- 20β24 cores, 20β24 threads
- Graphics
- NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 Laptop
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2026
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 16β64 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 128 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 1 TBβ2 TB
- M.2 slots
- 1
- SATA bays
- Not confirmed
- PCIe card slot
- No
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 2.5GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.4
- USB4 ports
- 0
- Thunderbolt ports
- 1
- USB-C ports
- 2
- USB-A ports
- 6
- HDMI outputs
- 2
- DisplayPort outputs
- 2
- Maximum displays
- 5
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- 280W or 380W external
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Not confirmed
- Dimensions
- 282.4 x 189.5 x 56.5
- Volume
- Not confirmed
Limitations
The main hardware limits are a single M.2 slot, a single network port, and no PCIe slot or OCuLink. The power supply is external, so plan desk space for the brick. ASUS does not state the case volume, the memory bandwidth, ECC support, whether the M.2 slot accepts SATA drives, SATA bays, an SD card reader, the TDP or a VESA mount.
Alternatives
The GMKtec EVO-X2 takes the other road, with an AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 in place of Intel's Core Ultra processors and integrated graphics instead of a discrete NVIDIA GPU. The deciding question is whether you want a dedicated graphics card with its own memory for gaming and CUDA work, as every ROG NUC 16 has. If so, this ASUS is the clearer fit; if integrated graphics appeal, compare the EVO-X2's memory ceiling against the 128 GB here.

GMKtec EVO-X2

MINISFORUM AtomMan G1 Pro

MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra

MINISFORUM MS-A2
Compared with
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory in the ROG NUC 16?
Yes. The memory is not soldered: there are 2 slots taking DDR5 at 6400 MT/s, up to 128 GB. The 16 GB, 32 GB and 64 GB models can all be raised to that ceiling.
How many monitors can it drive?
ASUS gives a maximum of 5 displays. You get 2 HDMI 2.1 outputs and 2 DisplayPort 2.1 outputs, and the USB-C ports support DisplayPort alt mode, so you can mix cables to suit your screens.
Which configuration is best for local AI?
The RTX 5080 Laptop model, because with a discrete GPU the graphics memory bounds model size, and it has 16 GB against 12 GB and 8 GB in the others. Local AI is workable here rather than well suited.
Does it have Wi-Fi built in?
Yes. A wireless module is included, with Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4, alongside 1 wired network port at 2.5GbE. That wired port is enough for a Docker host, though not for routing between networks.
Can I add a second SSD?
Not in a second M.2 slot: there is 1, taking 2280 drives at PCIe generation 5. ASUS does not state whether there are SATA bays, so do not count on one; a larger drive in that M.2 slot is the confirmed way to add capacity.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.