
ASUS ROG NUC 16 Edition 20
ASUS ROG NUC 16 Edition 20: compare this configuration by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
24 GB of GDDR7 on a GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop is what sets the ASUS ROG NUC 16 Edition 20 apart, and it sits beside a 24-core Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus in a compact NUC chassis. It is well suited to gaming, local AI, coding and workstation work, and it ships ready to use with 64 GB of DDR5, a 2000 GB NVMe PCIe 5.0 drive and Windows 11 Pro. Homelab builders get only one 2.5GbE port.
Choose a configuration

Who this suits
This machine suits someone who wants serious graphics in a compact box. That could be a gamer who wants a discrete GPU rather than shared memory, a developer running CUDA work, or someone loading local AI models into 24 GB of dedicated graphics memory. The 64 GB of memory and the 24-core processor also make it a strong workstation for demanding desktop jobs.
Skip it if your day is browsing, office work and streaming, because it is far more machine than that needs. Skip it too if you want a router or firewall: the single 2.5GbE port is not enough for routing between networks. Anyone who needs a PCIe card slot should look elsewhere, since there is none.
Workload fit
Everyday work is well suited: browsing, office and media are light jobs for a 24-core processor with 64 GB of memory, and it is far more machine than daily work needs.
Coding is well suited. The 64 GB of DDR5 sits in two SODIMM slots that can be upgraded, the discrete GPU handles anything that uses CUDA, and the 2000 GB PCIe 5.0 drive leaves room for projects.
Gaming is well suited. The GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop has its own 24 GB of GDDR7, so the graphics are fixed rather than shared with system memory. No frame rates are measured here.
Local AI is well suited. The GPU's own 24 GB of graphics memory is what bounds a model, not the 64 GB system total, so judge model sizes against the graphics memory.
Homelab use is workable. The single 2.5GbE port is enough for a Docker host but not for routing between networks, and there is no PCIe slot for adding a network card.
Workstation work is well suited. Discrete GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop graphics alongside 24 cores and 24 threads suit rendering, large builds and other demanding desktop jobs.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ultra 9 290HX Plus, RTX 5090 | Good | Good | Good | Workable | Good | Good |
Which configuration to choose
The ROG NUC 16 Edition 20 described here pairs the Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus, with 24 cores and 24 threads, with the GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop and its 24 GB of GDDR7. Memory is 64 GB of DDR5, storage is a 2000 GB NVMe PCIe 5.0 drive, and Windows 11 Pro comes installed. It is a new, complete system from 2026 rather than a barebones kit, so you can plug it in and start. Choose it for the graphics: the dedicated GDDR7 is what carries the gaming and local AI case. If you later need more memory or storage, the slots inside are the way to get it.
Upgrading it
Memory is the easy upgrade. The two SODIMM slots take DDR5 at 6400 MT/s, are not soldered, and accept up to 128 GB against the 64 GB installed.
Storage is tighter. There is one M.2 slot, running at PCIe generation 5, and the 2000 GB drive the machine ships with occupies it. More storage therefore means replacing that drive with a larger M.2 drive rather than adding a second one. Internal expansion runs through the two memory slots and the one M.2 slot, there is no PCIe card slot, and ASUS does not state SATA bays.
Connecting it
For screens, there are two HDMI 2.1 outputs and two DisplayPort 2.1 outputs, and the USB-C ports carry DisplayPort video as well. ASUS does not state how many displays can run at once, so check that before planning a large monitor setup.
For peripherals you get six USB-A ports, two USB-C ports and one Thunderbolt port, and there is no OCuLink.
Networking is one 2.5GbE port plus Wi-Fi 7, with the wireless module included, and Bluetooth 5.4.
Manufacturer specifications
Partly verifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- ASUS
- Processor
- Intel Core Ultra 9 290HX Plus
- Cores and threads
- 24 cores, 24 threads
- Graphics
- NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2026
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 64 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 128 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 2 TB
- M.2 slots
- 1
- SATA bays
- Not confirmed
- PCIe card slot
- No
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 2.5GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.4
- USB4 ports
- Not confirmed
- Thunderbolt ports
- 1
- USB-C ports
- 2
- USB-A ports
- 6
- HDMI outputs
- 2
- DisplayPort outputs
- 2
- Maximum displays
- Not confirmed
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- Not confirmed
- TDP
- Not confirmed
- VESA mount
- Not confirmed
- Dimensions
- Not confirmed
- Volume
- Not confirmed
Limitations
The hardware limits are clear: one M.2 slot, one network port, no PCIe card slot and no OCuLink. ASUS also leaves several things unstated: the dimensions and volume, memory bandwidth, ECC support, whether the M.2 slot takes SATA drives, SATA bays, USB4 ports, the maximum number of displays, an SD card reader, the power supply, the TDP and a VESA mount. Without stated dimensions, check the size against your desk before you commit.
Alternatives
When comparing other compact machines, start with the graphics memory, since the 24 GB here is what bounds local AI models. Then compare the network ports, because one 2.5GbE port limits homelab use, the number of M.2 slots against the single slot here, and whether the memory sits in removable SODIMM slots with a 128 GB ceiling as it does on this machine.

MSI MAX Edge AI+

GMKtec EVO-X3

MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max

GEEKOM A9 Mega
Compared with
Common questions
Can I upgrade the memory on the ROG NUC 16 Edition 20?
Yes. The memory is not soldered: it sits in two SODIMM slots that take DDR5 at 6400 MT/s and accept up to 128 GB. The machine ships with 64 GB installed, so there is real room to grow.
How many monitors can it drive?
It has two HDMI 2.1 outputs and two DisplayPort 2.1 outputs, and its USB-C ports carry DisplayPort video too. ASUS does not state the maximum number of displays it can run at the same time, so check before buying for a multi-screen desk.
Is it good for running local AI models?
It is well suited. The GeForce RTX 5090 Laptop has 24 GB of its own GDDR7 memory, and that graphics memory, not the 64 GB of system memory, is what bounds the size of a model you can load.
Does it have Wi-Fi and Bluetooth?
Yes. It supports Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4, and the wireless module is included. For wired networking there is one 2.5GbE port, which is enough for a Docker host but not for routing between networks.
Can I add a second SSD?
Not alongside the one it ships with. The machine has a single M.2 slot at PCIe generation 5, and the 2000 GB NVMe PCIe 5.0 drive occupies it. Getting more storage means swapping in a larger M.2 drive.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.