Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

GMKtec EVO-X3 vs MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max

Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.

Updated

The short answer

Inside each case sits the same AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 with Radeon 8060S graphics, so the real choice is about the box wrapped around that chip. The MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max suits a buyer who wants two 10GbE ports, a PCIe slot and a generous spread of USB ports. The GMKtec EVO-X3 suits a buyer who wants that chip with 128 GB of memory, Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4. That buyer must also accept that GMKtec says far less about its ports.

Specifications side by side

CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.

SpecificationGMKtec EVO-X3MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
ProcessorAMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395
GraphicsAMD Radeon 8060SAMD Radeon 8060S
Installed memory128 GB128 GB
Installed storage2 TB2 TB
Maximum memory128 GB128 GB
Memory slots00
M.2 slots22
LAN speedNot confirmed10GbE
USB4 ports24
Thunderbolt ports00

Workload by workload

Everyday work and coding are well suited on both, since each has 16 cores and 32 threads. For coding the difference is peripherals: the EVO-X3 has two USB4 ports and the MS-S1 Max has four.

Gaming is workable on both and no better than that. Each relies on the integrated Radeon 8060S sharing system memory, with no discrete GPU and no OCuLink port for an external one.

Local AI is well suited on both. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Capacity decides which model sizes fit, so the 128 GB machines hold larger models than the 64 GB MS-S1 Max. Bandwidth governs how fast text is generated, and neither maker states it.

Workstation use is well suited on both, though the 64 GB MS-S1 Max gives up half the memory of the 128 GB versions.

Homelab use is well suited on the MS-S1 Max, thanks to two 10GbE RJ45 ports and two M.2 2280 slots. For the EVO-X3 there is no homelab judgment, because GMKtec does not state its network ports or network speed.

Expansion and upgrades

Neither machine can grow its memory. Both have no memory slots and soldered memory with a 128 GB maximum. The EVO-X3 already sits at 128 GB, and the 64 GB MS-S1 Max stays at 64 GB for life.

Storage is where upgrades happen, and each machine has two M.2 2280 slots. On the MS-S1 Max both slots are PCIe 4.0, but the second is wired at x1 rather than x4, so a drive there gets less bandwidth than one in the first. On the EVO-X3 the first slot is PCIe 4.0, and GMKtec does not state the generation of the second. A PCIe 5.0 drive in the first slot of either machine would run at PCIe 4.0 speed. The MS-S1 Max also adds a full-size x16 PCIe slot wired with 4 lanes.

Ports and connectivity

The MS-S1 Max spells out its ports: four USB4, five USB-A, one HDMI 2.1 output, two 10GbE network ports and built-in Wi-Fi 7. Its USB-C ports also carry DisplayPort, so screens can connect through the HDMI output or the USB-C ports. MINISFORUM does not state the maximum number of displays. For 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI, the cable and the display input must also be HDMI 2.1.

The EVO-X3 has two USB4 ports, Wi-Fi 7 with the wireless module included, and Bluetooth 5.4. GMKtec does not state its HDMI or DisplayPort outputs, whether its USB-C ports carry video, its USB-A ports or its wired networking. Neither maker states ECC or M.2 SATA support. GMKtec also omits dimensions, power supply and VESA mount, and MINISFORUM omits Bluetooth.

Which configurations to compare

The fair match is the MS-S1 Max with 128 GB and 2000 GB against the EVO-X3. The EVO-X3 also comes with 128 GB of memory and 2000 GB of NVMe PCIe 4.0 storage. That leaves the chassis, ports and networking as the real differences. The 4000 GB MS-S1 Max suits someone who wants double the storage without filling the second slot. Pick the 64 GB MS-S1 Max only if you want its networking and PCIe slot and can live without the larger AI models that need more memory. Its memory never grows.

If neither fits

If neither fits, it is usually for a reason both share. Each has soldered memory with no slots, integrated graphics only, and no OCuLink port. To add memory later or attach an external graphics card over OCuLink, you need a machine with memory slots or an OCuLink port, and neither of these offers either one. For gaming beyond workable, look for a machine with discrete graphics.

Workload fit

The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.

WorkloadGMKtec EVO-X3MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max
EverydayGoodGood
CodingGoodGood
GamingWorkableWorkable
Home labNot confirmedGood
Local AIGoodGood
WorkstationGoodGood

Common questions

Do the GMKtec EVO-X3 and MINISFORUM MS-S1 Max use the same processor?

Yes. Both run the AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395 with 16 cores, 32 threads, Radeon 8060S integrated graphics and an NPU with 50 TOPS. The differences lie in memory options, ports, networking and expansion, not in the chip itself.

Can I upgrade the memory later?

Not on either machine. Both have no memory slots and soldered memory with a 128 GB maximum. The EVO-X3 ships at that maximum, while the 64 GB MS-S1 Max stays at 64 GB, so choose the capacity you need from the start.

Which one makes more sense as a home server?

The MS-S1 Max is well suited to homelab use, with two 10GbE ports, two M.2 2280 slots and a PCIe slot wired with 4 lanes. GMKtec does not state the EVO-X3's network ports or speed, which makes it hard to plan a server around.

How many monitors can the MS-S1 Max drive?

MINISFORUM does not state the maximum number of displays. Video can leave through its one HDMI 2.1 output and its four USB-C ports, which support DisplayPort alt mode. For 4K above 60 Hz over HDMI, the cable and the display input must also be HDMI 2.1.

The two machines

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.