Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra vs MINISFORUM MS-A2

Two mini PCs side by side: what each one suits, where they differ, and the price of each on amazon.com.

Updated

The short answer

Network speed is the clearest split between these two MINISFORUM machines: the MS-02 Ultra carries two 25GbE SFP+ ports plus 10GbE and 2.5GbE, while the MS-A2 tops out at two 10GbE SFP+ and two 2.5GbE ports. Pick the MS-02 Ultra if you want memory up to 256 GB with ECC support and three USB4 ports. Pick the MS-A2 if you want 32 threads in a 1.8 liter chassis with U.2 storage, and 96 GB of memory is enough for you.

Specifications side by side

CPU, GPU, installed memory and storage describe the configurations shown above. Memory limits, slots and ports describe the chassis; other configurations can differ.

SpecificationMINISFORUM MS-02 UltraMINISFORUM MS-A2
ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 285HXAMD Ryzen 9 9955HX
GraphicsIntel Graphics (4 Xe-cores)AMD Radeon 610M
Installed memoryNot included in this barebones kitNot included in this barebones kit
Installed storageNot included in this barebones kitNot included in this barebones kit
Maximum memory256 GB96 GB
Memory slots42
M.2 slots43
LAN speed2x 25GbE SFP+, 10GbE, 2.5GbE2x 10GbE SFP+, 2x 2.5GbE
USB4 ports30
Thunderbolt portsNot confirmed0

Workload by workload

Everyday work and coding are well suited on both, with one gap: the 192 GB MS-02 Ultra is not assessed for any workload, so its verdicts here rest on the 32 GB model. For coding, the MS-02 Ultra's Core Ultra 9 285HX brings 24 cores and 24 threads, against 16 cores and 32 threads on the MS-A2's Ryzen 9 9955HX.

Gaming is a poor fit on both. The MS-02 Ultra relies on Intel Graphics with 4 Xe-cores and the MS-A2 on an AMD Radeon 610M, a minimal display adapter, and neither ships with a discrete card.

Homelab use is well suited on both, and so is workstation duty, since each has a PCIe slot of x16 physical size. The MS-A2's slot has 8 lanes; MINISFORUM does not state the lane count on the MS-02 Ultra, which matters if you plan a fast network or storage card.

Local AI is where the memory ceilings show. The 32 GB MS-02 Ultra is workable: with no discrete GPU and no unified memory, a large model runs on the CPU. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. Generation speed depends on memory bandwidth, which MINISFORUM does not state for either machine.

Expansion and upgrades

Neither machine solders its memory, and both use SODIMM slots. The MS-02 Ultra has four slots taking up to 256 GB, so its 32 GB model has plenty of room to grow, and MINISFORUM confirms ECC support; it does not state ECC support for the MS-A2. The MS-A2 has two slots and a 96 GB maximum, which its 96 GB model already fills.

For storage, the MS-02 Ultra offers four M.2 slots of 2280 length, the first two at PCIe 4.0. The MS-A2's M.2 slots take 2280 or 22110 drives, with a U.2 option as well; its first slot runs at PCIe 4.0, its second at PCIe 3.0, and it has no SATA bays. A PCIe 4.0 M.2 drive added to that second slot runs at PCIe 3.0 speed.

Ports and connectivity

The MS-02 Ultra has four network ports: two 25GbE SFP+, one 10GbE and one 2.5GbE, plus Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4. The MS-A2 also has four: two 10GbE SFP+ and two 2.5GbE, with Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.2.

On USB, the MS-02 Ultra counts three USB4 ports among its three USB-C ports, plus four USB-A, while the MS-A2 has two USB-C and three USB-A, with no USB4 or Thunderbolt.

Screens split the two clearly. The MS-02 Ultra drives up to four displays from one HDMI 2.1 output and its USB-C ports, which carry DisplayPort. The MS-A2 has one HDMI output, and MINISFORUM does not state its HDMI version or how many displays it supports. The MS-02 Ultra's power supply is internal, while the MS-A2 runs from an external brick.

Which configurations to compare

The fair match is the MS-02 Ultra with 32 GB and 1000 GB against the MS-A2 with 32 GB and 1000 GB: same memory, same storage, both new with Windows 11 Pro. At the top, set the 192 GB MS-02 Ultra with 2000 GB against the 96 GB MS-A2 with 2000 GB, keeping in mind that only the MS-A2 model is assessed. If you prefer to fit your own memory and storage, both come as barebones kits, which are not assessed until built.

If neither fits

If neither fits, the alternative to consider is the Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro). It swaps the Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX for Apple's M5 Pro and caps memory at 64 GB, against the MS-02 Ultra's 256 GB. That makes sense if you want a different platform and 64 GB covers your work; if you need more memory headroom, stay with the MINISFORUM machines.

Workload fit

The best configuration of each machine, as our fit rules judge it.

WorkloadMINISFORUM MS-02 UltraMINISFORUM MS-A2
EverydayGoodGood
CodingGoodGood
GamingNot suitedNot suited
Home labGoodGood
Local AIWorkableGood
WorkstationGoodGood

Common questions

Which one has the faster networking?

The MS-02 Ultra, on paper: it has two 25GbE SFP+ ports plus 10GbE and 2.5GbE, while the MS-A2 has two 10GbE SFP+ and two 2.5GbE ports. Both offer four network ports in total, so the difference is speed, not count.

Can I run a 70B language model on either?

For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The 32 GB MS-02 Ultra is workable for local AI, with the model running on the CPU.

Can either drive more than one monitor?

The MS-02 Ultra supports up to four displays, using its HDMI 2.1 output and its USB-C ports, which carry DisplayPort. MINISFORUM does not state the maximum number of displays for the MS-A2, which has one HDMI output.

Can I upgrade the memory later?

Yes on both, since neither solders its memory. The MS-02 Ultra takes up to 256 GB across four SODIMM slots; the MS-A2 takes up to 96 GB across two, so its 96 GB model is already at the ceiling.

The two machines

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.