Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra

MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

Room for 256 GB of ECC-capable memory, a PCIe x16 card slot and two 25GbE SFP+ ports make the MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra a compact workstation and homelab server, though MINISFORUM does not state how many lanes the slot is wired for. Its Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX brings 24 cores to code builds and homelab services. Choose it if you need memory, network bandwidth or an add-in card in 4.8 liters. Skip it if gaming is the goal, because its graphics are integrated.

Choose a configuration

Product image: MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra

Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX, 32 GB / 1 TB

Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX
CPU
32 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
2x 25GbE SFP+
NETWORK
$1,519.00
Product image: MINISFORUM MS-02 Ultra

Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX, barebones kit

Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX
CPU
BAREBONES
CONFIG
RAM & SSD required
2x 25GbE SFP+
NETWORK
10GbE
NETWORK
$1,039.00
Kit price, before RAM and SSD

Who this suits

It suits homelab builders who want fast networking and plenty of storage in one box. Two 25GbE SFP+ ports sit beside 10GbE and 2.5GbE, and four M.2 slots take 2280 drives. Developers get 24 cores and four memory slots that grow to 256 GB, with ECC support if you want it. The PCIe x16 slot also makes it a workstation candidate for an add-in card, though MINISFORUM does not state how many lanes it is wired for.

Skip it if you mainly want to play games, because the graphics are integrated and there is no discrete GPU. If you only browse, write and stream, 24 cores and 25GbE networking are far more than that work asks for.

Workload fit

Everyday use is well suited on the 32 GB model, with comfortably more than daily work needs. The barebones kit cannot be judged until you fit memory and storage.

Coding is well suited on the 32 GB model, thanks to 24 cores and four memory slots that can reach 256 GB. The barebones kit again waits until it is built.

Gaming is a poor fit on the 32 GB model and the barebones kit. The Intel Graphics with 4 Xe-cores is integrated and there is no discrete GPU, so this is a workstation chassis, not a gaming one.

Homelab use is well suited on both the 32 GB model and the barebones kit. Two 25GbE SFP+ ports alongside 10GbE and 2.5GbE, four M.2 slots and 256 GB of memory headroom are the reasons.

Local AI is workable on the 32 GB model. It ships with 32 GB of DDR5 and expands to 256 GB, but with no discrete GPU and no unified memory, a large model runs on the CPU. On the barebones kit, the memory you fit sets the limit.

Workstation use is well suited across all three versions thanks to a PCIe x16 card slot, though MINISFORUM does not state how many lanes it is wired for. The 192 GB model has not been assessed for everyday work, coding, gaming, homelab or local AI.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
Core Ultra 9 285HX, 32 GB, 1 TBGoodGoodNot suitedGoodWorkableGood
Core Ultra 9 285HX, 192 GB ECC, 2 TBNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedGood
Core Ultra 9 285HX bareboneNot confirmedNot confirmedNot suitedGoodNot confirmedGood

Which configuration to choose

All three versions use the same Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX with 24 cores and integrated graphics. The 32 GB model with 1000 GB of NVMe PCIe 4.0 storage and Windows 11 Pro is the sensible start for development or a first homelab. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. The barebones kit leaves memory and drives to you, which suits buyers who want ECC modules or their own SSDs.

Upgrading it

Memory is not soldered: four slots take up to 256 GB, and ECC is supported. The 32 GB model leaves a lot of room to grow, while the 192 GB model is already close to that ceiling.

Storage runs through four M.2 slots for 2280 drives, and MINISFORUM confirms PCIe 4.0 for the first and second slots. The PCIe x16 slot takes an add-in card, though MINISFORUM does not state how many lanes it is wired for, and the 350W power supply is built in, so there is no external brick on your desk.

Connecting it

You can run up to 4 displays. There is one HDMI 2.1 output and no full-size DisplayPort, and the three USB-C ports support DisplayPort alt mode, so the other screens connect over USB-C cables or adapters. Three USB4 ports and four USB-A ports cover peripherals and drives.

Networking is the headline: four wired ports, two 25GbE SFP+, one 10GbE and one 2.5GbE, plus Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4. The three USB4 ports are the route for external devices; MINISFORUM does not state external graphics support over them.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
MINISFORUM
Processor
Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX
Cores and threads
24 cores, 24 threads
Graphics
Intel Graphics (4 Xe-cores)
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2026

Upgrade options

Installed memory
32–192 GB
Memory slots
4
Maximum memory
256 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
1 TB–2 TB
M.2 slots
4
SATA bays
Not confirmed
PCIe card slot
Not confirmed

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
4
LAN speed
2x 25GbE SFP+, 10GbE, 2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 7
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.4
USB4 ports
3
Thunderbolt ports
Not confirmed
USB-C ports
3
USB-A ports
4
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
0
Maximum displays
4
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
Not confirmed
Power supply
350W internal
TDP
140 W
VESA mount
Not confirmed
Dimensions
Not confirmed
Volume
4.8 L

Limitations

MINISFORUM does not state the dimensions, the memory speed or bandwidth, how much memory the graphics can use, whether the M.2 slots accept SATA drives, any SATA bays, Thunderbolt support, an SD card reader or a VESA mount. For the 192 GB model, only the workstation fit has been judged so far.

Alternatives

The Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro) swaps the Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX for Apple's M5 Pro, but tops out at 64 GB against 256 GB here. The Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2 uses an Intel Core Ultra 5 225 with a 128 GB ceiling, which works if you need less headroom. The MINISFORUM MS-A2 moves to an AMD Ryzen 9 9955HX with a 96 GB maximum. If memory capacity decides it, the MS-02 Ultra's 256 GB ceiling is higher than each of these three.

Compared with

Common questions

Can the MS-02 Ultra play games?

Not well. Gaming is a poor fit because the Intel Graphics with 4 Xe-cores is integrated and there is no discrete GPU. This is a workstation chassis built around a PCIe x16 card slot rather than gaming hardware, though MINISFORUM does not state how many lanes it is wired for.

Does it support ECC memory?

Yes, MINISFORUM confirms ECC support, and the memory is not soldered, so you can fit your own modules across four slots up to 256 GB. The barebones kit is the natural choice if you want to buy ECC modules yourself.

How many monitors can I connect?

Up to 4 screens at once. There is one HDMI 2.1 output and no full-size DisplayPort, and the USB-C ports support DisplayPort alt mode, so the remaining screens connect over USB-C cables or adapters instead.

Does it have Wi-Fi?

Yes. The MS-02 Ultra includes a Wi-Fi 7 module with Bluetooth 5.4, alongside four wired ports: two 25GbE SFP+, one 10GbE and one 2.5GbE. In a server role, the wired ports will likely carry most of your traffic.

Is it good for running local AI models?

It is workable on the 32 GB model. With no discrete GPU and no unified memory, large models run on the CPU, but four slots let you grow memory to 256 GB, which raises the size of model that fits.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.