Skip to content
MiniPc.Deals

MINISFORUM MS-01

MINISFORUM MS-01: compare 6 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and local price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.

Updated

The short answer

Two 10GbE SFP+ ports and two 2.5GbE ports in a 1.8-liter workstation case set the MINISFORUM MS-01 apart and make it a natural homelab box. Add three M.2 slots, memory up to 96 GB and a PCIe 4.0 x16 slot wired for 8 lanes, and it has room to grow with your lab. The built 32 GB models suit coding and everyday work, and the barebones kits suit you if you already own memory and storage. Gamers should skip the built models, whose Intel Iris Xe graphics make gaming a poor fit.

Choose a configuration

Product image: MINISFORUM MS-01

Intel Core i9-13900H, 32 GB / 1 TB

Intel Core i9-13900H
CPU
32 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
2x 10GbE SFP+
NETWORK
$1,279.00
Product image: MINISFORUM MS-01

Intel Core i9-12900H, 32 GB / 1 TB

Intel Core i9-12900H
CPU
32 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
2x 10GbE SFP+
NETWORK
$999.00
Product image: MINISFORUM MS-01

Intel Core i5-12600H, 32 GB / 1 TB

Intel Core i5-12600H
CPU
32 GB DDR5
RAM
1 TB SSD
STORAGE
2x 10GbE SFP+
NETWORK
$1,039.00
Product image: MINISFORUM MS-01

Intel Core i9-13900H, barebones kit

Intel Core i9-13900H
CPU
BAREBONES
CONFIG
RAM & SSD required
2x 10GbE SFP+
NETWORK
2x 2.5GbE
NETWORK
$659.00
Kit price, before RAM and SSD
Product image: MINISFORUM MS-01

Intel Core i5-12600H, barebones kit

Intel Core i5-12600H
CPU
BAREBONES
CONFIG
RAM & SSD required
2x 10GbE SFP+
NETWORK
2x 2.5GbE
NETWORK
$459.00
Kit price, before RAM and SSD

Who this suits

It suits a homelab builder who wants fast networking without a rack server: two 10GbE SFP+ ports, two 2.5GbE ports and three M.2 slots fit in a 196 x 189 x 48 mm case. Developers do well with the three built models, which come with 32 GB of DDR5, and the Core i9 versions bring fourteen cores and twenty threads. Anyone planning an add-in card gets the slot, wired for 8 lanes.

Skip it if you want to play games, since the built models' integrated Iris Xe graphics are a poor fit as shipped. It is also the wrong pick if you need a DisplayPort output or an SD card reader, because it has neither.

Workload fit

Everyday use is well suited on the three built models, whose 32 GB of DDR5 goes far beyond office and browsing needs. The barebones kits ship without memory or storage, so they are not assessed until built, and that holds for every workload below except homelab and workstation use.

Coding is well suited on the built models: 32 GB of DDR5, two USB4 ports and three M.2 slots let you keep build and data volumes apart. The built Core i9 versions add fourteen cores and twenty threads for parallel compiles.

Gaming is a poor fit on the built models. Their graphics are integrated Intel Iris Xe, and while the slot could take a card, gaming as sold is a poor fit.

Homelab use is well suited, with four network ports, memory up to 96 GB and the slot; MINISFORUM positions it as a workstation with vPro support.

Local AI is workable on the built models. For local AI, check the exact model release, quantization, context length, runtime overhead and memory available after the operating system. System RAM and GPU VRAM are different limits; shared-memory allocation depends on firmware, drivers and the backend. CPU inference or partial offloading can change what loads and its speed. Installed capacity alone does not establish compatibility or useful generation speed. Check the current Ollama or LM Studio hardware documentation for the exact GPU and operating system. There is no discrete GPU, and generation speed is not measured.

Workstation use is well suited, thanks to the card slot wired for 8 lanes. MINISFORUM does not confirm the memory bandwidth of any version.

ConfigurationEverydayCodingGamingHome labLocal AIWorkstation
32 GB / 1 TBGoodGoodNot suitedGoodWorkableGood
32 GB / 1 TB, i9-12900HGoodGoodNot suitedGoodWorkableGood
32 GB / 1 TB, i5-12600HGoodGoodNot suitedGoodWorkableGood
Barebones kitNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedGoodNot confirmedGood
Barebones kit, i5Not confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedGoodNot confirmedGood
Barebones kit, i9-12900HNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedGoodNot confirmedGood

Which configuration to choose

MINISFORUM sells the MS-01 with three processors, each as a built model or a barebones kit. The built models share 32 GB of DDR5, a 1000 GB NVMe drive and Windows 11 Pro. The Core i9-13900H and Core i9-12900H each have 14 cores and 20 threads; the Core i5-12600H has 12 cores and 16 threads. Pick a Core i9 for heavy compiles or many virtual machines, and the Core i5 for a lighter lab. The barebones kits come without memory or storage, and MINISFORUM does not state an operating system for them, so they suit builders with parts on hand.

Upgrading it

Memory sits in two slots and is not soldered, so you can raise it to the 96 GB maximum. MINISFORUM does not state the memory speed or ECC support. Three M.2 slots take 2280 or 22110 drives, with U.2 support too. The first slot runs at PCIe generation 4 and the second at generation 3. There are no SATA bays and M.2 SATA support is not confirmed, so plan on NVMe. The slot is physically x16, wired for 8 lanes, and could take an add-in card.

Connecting it

MINISFORUM states a maximum of 3 displays, but the only dedicated video output is one HDMI port, version not stated, and there is no DisplayPort output. Networking is the highlight: two 10GbE SFP+ ports and two 2.5GbE ports, plus Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2. MINISFORUM counts five USB-A ports, two USB-C ports and two USB4 ports. For external devices there are those two USB4 ports, with no Thunderbolt and no OCuLink. Power comes from a 19V external supply.

Manufacturer specifications

Verified

Specifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source

Overview

Brand
MINISFORUM
Processor
Intel Core i9-13900H, Intel Core i9-12900H, Intel Core i5-12600H
Cores and threads
12–14 cores, 16–20 threads
Graphics
Intel Iris Xe Graphics
NPU
Not confirmed
Operating system
Windows 11 Pro
Release year
2024

Upgrade options

Installed memory
32 GB
Memory slots
2
Maximum memory
96 GB
Memory soldered
No
Installed storage
1 TB
M.2 slots
3
SATA bays
0
PCIe card slot
x16 slot, wired for 8 lanes

Ports and connectivity

LAN ports
4
LAN speed
2x 10GbE SFP+, 2x 2.5GbE
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.2
USB4 ports
2
Thunderbolt ports
0
USB-C ports
2
USB-A ports
5
HDMI outputs
1
DisplayPort outputs
0
Maximum displays
3
OCuLink
No
SD card reader
No
Power supply
19V external
TDP
Not confirmed
VESA mount
Not confirmed
Dimensions
196 x 189 x 48
Volume
1.778 L

Limitations

Video output is thin: one HDMI port with an unstated version and no DisplayPort. There is no SD card reader, no SATA bay and no OCuLink. The built models rely on integrated Iris Xe graphics, so gaming as sold is a poor fit, even though the slot could take a card. MINISFORUM does not state the TDP, memory speed, ECC support or VESA mounting. The barebones kits need memory and storage before they will run.

Alternatives

The MINISFORUM UM890 Pro uses an AMD Ryzen 9 8945HS and offers 2.5GbE networking, so it only makes sense if you can live without 10GbE SFP+. The Beelink EQi13 runs an Intel Core i5-13420H, and its maximum memory is not confirmed, against 96 GB here. The ASUS NUC 14 Pro has an Intel Core Ultra 7 155H but tops out at 48 GB rather than 96 GB, so check that ceiling against your virtual machines.

Compared with

Common questions

Can the MINISFORUM MS-01 run games?

Not well as sold. The built models use integrated Intel Iris Xe graphics, which makes gaming a poor fit, and the barebones kits are not assessed until built. The PCIe 4.0 x16 slot wired for 8 lanes could take a card, but as sold, gaming on the built models is a poor fit.

How much memory can the MS-01 take?

Up to 96 GB across two slots, and the memory is not soldered, so the 32 GB in the built models can be replaced. MINISFORUM does not state the supported memory speed or whether ECC memory works.

How many monitors can I connect?

MINISFORUM states a maximum of 3 displays. The only dedicated video output is one HDMI port, with no DisplayPort output, and MINISFORUM does not state the HDMI version, so check it against your monitor before buying.

Does the MS-01 have Wi-Fi?

Yes. A Wi-Fi 6 module with Bluetooth 5.2 is included, so the machine can run without a network cable. The wired side is the bigger draw, though, with two 10GbE SFP+ ports and two 2.5GbE ports.

Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.