
Dell Pro Max Micro FCM2250
Dell Pro Max Micro FCM2250: compare 3 configurations by processor, memory, storage, connections and UK price. Check the exact build and upgrade options before buying.
Updated
The short answer
Few cases this size hold a card slot, yet the Dell Pro Max Micro FCM2250 fits a PCIe slot with 8 lanes into 2.9 litres, which makes it a compact workstation rather than a plain office box. For workstation jobs, coding and occasional gaming, pick the build with the Core Ultra 7 265 and the NVIDIA RTX A1000 with 8 GB of GDDR6. The trade-offs are the single 1GbE port and the lack of any HDMI output.
Choose a configuration

Who this suits
It suits developers and professionals who want a small Windows 11 Pro desktop with room to grow. It has two SODIMM slots that reach 64 GB with ECC support, two M.2 slots and a PCIe card slot with 8 lanes. The Core Ultra 7 265 builds are well suited to coding and workstation work.
Skip it if gaming is the main job. The Intel Graphics builds are a poor fit for it, and even the RTX A1000 build is only workable. Homelab builders who need several fast network ports should also look elsewhere, because it has one 1GbE port.
Workload fit
Everyday work is well suited on every build, starting with the 14-core Core Ultra 5 245.
Coding is workable on the Core Ultra 5 245 model with 16 GB, and you can raise that memory later through the two slots to 64 GB. Both Core Ultra 7 265 builds are well suited to coding, with 20 cores and 32 GB.
Gaming is a poor fit on the two Intel Graphics builds. It is workable on the RTX A1000 build, which has 8 GB of GDDR6 of its own.
Homelab use is workable. Two M.2 slots give room for storage, but a single 1GbE port limits it as a server or router.
Local AI is a poor fit on the 16 GB model and workable on the two 32 GB builds. Dell does not state the memory bandwidth, so you cannot judge from the specs how quickly models will run on the processor.
Workstation work is well suited. The PCIe card slot has 8 lanes, the memory supports ECC, and the RTX A1000 build adds discrete graphics.
| Configuration | Everyday | Coding | Gaming | Home lab | Local AI | Workstation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core Ultra 5 245, 16 GB / 512 GB | Good | Workable | Not suited | Workable | Not suited | Good |
| Core Ultra 7 265, 32 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Not suited | Workable | Workable | Good |
| Core Ultra 7 265, RTX A1000, 32 GB / 1 TB | Good | Good | Workable | Workable | Workable | Good |
Which configuration to choose
All three builds are new and run Windows 11 Pro on DDR5 memory and NVMe storage. The entry model pairs a Core Ultra 5 245 with 14 cores and 14 threads with 16 GB of memory and 512 GB of storage. The middle model moves to a Core Ultra 7 265 with 20 cores, 32 GB and 1000 GB, still on Intel Graphics. The top model keeps that processor, memory and storage and adds the NVIDIA RTX A1000.
Pick the Core Ultra 5 for office work and the Intel Graphics Core Ultra 7 for coding. Pick the RTX A1000 for graphics-heavy workstation jobs.
Upgrading it
The memory is not soldered. It sits in two SODIMM slots that take up to 64 GB of DDR5 at 6400 MT/s. ECC support lets you fit error-correcting modules for long jobs. The 16 GB entry model is the one where this headroom matters.
For storage, there are two M.2 slots for 2280 drives, both PCIe Gen 4, so a second M.2 drive fits alongside the installed one. M.2 SATA drives are not supported, and there are no SATA bays. The PCIe card slot, x8 in size with 8 lanes, is the other expansion route.
Connecting it
Screens connect over DisplayPort. The machine has 3 DisplayPort 1.4a outputs and no HDMI output, so plan on DisplayPort cables, or adapters for HDMI monitors. Dell does not state the maximum number of displays.
For accessories you get 2 USB-C ports and 6 USB-A ports. There is no USB4, Thunderbolt or OCuLink port.
Wired networking is a single 1GbE port. Dell gives the wireless standards as Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4. Dell does not state whether the wireless module is included, so confirm that before you rely on it. Power comes from an external 180W or 280W supply.
Manufacturer specifications
VerifiedSpecifications are taken from the manufacturer. Fields we could not confirm are marked not confirmed. Source
Overview
- Brand
- Dell
- Processor
- Intel Core Ultra 5 245, Intel Core Ultra 7 265
- Cores and threads
- 14β20 cores, 14β20 threads
- Graphics
- Intel Graphics, NVIDIA RTX A1000
- NPU
- Not confirmed
- Operating system
- Windows 11 Pro
- Release year
- 2025
Upgrade options
- Installed memory
- 16β32 GB
- Memory slots
- 2
- Maximum memory
- 64 GB
- Memory soldered
- No
- Installed storage
- 512 GBβ1 TB
- M.2 slots
- 2
- SATA bays
- 0
- PCIe card slot
- x8 slot, wired for 8 lanes
Ports and connectivity
- LAN ports
- 1
- LAN speed
- 1GbE
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 7
- Bluetooth
- 5.4
- USB4 ports
- 0
- Thunderbolt ports
- 0
- USB-C ports
- 2
- USB-A ports
- 6
- HDMI outputs
- 0
- DisplayPort outputs
- 3
- Maximum displays
- Not confirmed
- OCuLink
- No
- SD card reader
- Not confirmed
- Power supply
- 180W or 280W external
- TDP
- 65 W
- VESA mount
- Not confirmed
- Dimensions
- 206 x 79.3 x 178
- Volume
- 2.908 L
Limitations
The single 1GbE port is the clearest limit for network-heavy use. There is also no HDMI output. Memory stops at 64 GB.
Dell does not state the maximum number of displays, whether the wireless module is included, the memory bandwidth, the graphics memory of the Intel Graphics builds, whether there is an SD card reader, or whether there is a VESA mount.
Alternatives
The Apple Mac mini (M5 Pro) uses Apple's M5 Pro instead of an Intel Core Ultra processor. Its network port is 2.5GbE with a 10GbE option, against the Dell's 1GbE, and that is the deciding point for a fast file-server link.
The Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Ultra SFF Gen 2 uses an Intel Core Ultra 5 235. It raises the memory ceiling to 128 GB, against the Dell's 64 GB, and that matters if your jobs outgrow 64 GB.
Stay with the Dell if its PCIe card slot with 8 lanes and its 3 DisplayPort outputs fit your desk.

ASUS ROG NUC 16

GEEKOM A9 Mega

Lenovo ThinkStation P3 Tiny Gen 2

GMKtec EVO-X2
Common questions
Does it have HDMI?
No. It has no HDMI output, so screens connect through its 3 DisplayPort 1.4a outputs, with adapters for monitors that only take HDMI. Dell does not state the maximum number of displays it can drive at once.
Can I upgrade the memory later?
Yes. The memory is not soldered and sits in 2 SODIMM slots that take up to 64 GB of DDR5 at 6400 MT/s, with ECC support. The 16 GB Core Ultra 5 245 model is the obvious candidate for an upgrade.
Is it any good for gaming?
Only the build with the NVIDIA RTX A1000 and 8 GB of GDDR6 is workable for gaming. The two Intel Graphics builds are a poor fit, so treat this as a workstation that can play occasionally rather than as a gaming PC.
Does it come with Wi-Fi?
Dell gives the wireless standards as Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 5.4. Dell does not state whether the wireless module is included, so confirm it before buying if you need wireless. Otherwise, plan on the single 1GbE wired port.
Fields we could not confirm from the manufacturer are marked not confirmed rather than guessed. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.co.uk at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.